End of line for 2013

The standard used for inclusion in my blog

The standard used for inclusion in my blog

As of 12 December 2013, I have collected 263 articles in my citeulike database. The numbers’ accuracy is based on what I received from online subscriptions to academic journals, database alerts and Google scholar alerts using keywords for “video games”, and “computer games” and, of course, being a few weeks out of date. Anyone who titled their article “electronic gaming” is not on my radar. I could have updated the numbers, but I am resting from a marathon-like semester.

It is quite interesting as there are fewer articles published in 2013 than 2012’s 306 articles. It is also interesting that there are some kind of trend that goes on in the year, I felt that as we approach the end of the year, there are fewer published videogame articles. The most proliferous is around spring time. I should gather some publishing data for 2014 to validate my suspicions.

The year has been quite eventful and valuable lessons in science communication are learned. First, personal blogs like mine don’t stir much attention unless you blog in established venues like Gamasutra, Time or Psychology Today or you cultivated a large following. My blogging about Kuznekoff & Rose’s study on gender voice interactions in Halo games gained attention limited within the gaming community. This was posted in here and in my gamasutra blog. None of the gaming news picked it up. Although, some girl gamers at some conference (can’t find link) mentioned Kuznekoff and Rose’s research so I got that going for me, which is nice. In July 2013, I posted Jesse Fox and colleagues’ avatar study on female sexualization, a few stirrings, but nothing significant… until a university press release months later got a lot of attention as it was picked up by Fox news, Time magazine, Kotaku and even Christopher J. Ferguson blogged about it in Huffington Post. It got really interesting that Jesse Fox blogged about the misrepresentation of the study. So with these events in mind, if you want to publicize your study, ask your university’s press release department, but be mindful in how journalists interpret that press release. What does this say about my blog? Should I stop blogging? Perhaps not, but I should start cross-posting in my Gamasutra blog more often.

Hyouka - Satoshi Fukube

Satoshi Fukube (Hyouka) makes a good point about being a database. My graduate colleagues see me as a database of videogame studies.

I went through a lot of first times this year. I start reviewing for academic journals, I was nervous on my first one, but fortunately it was easy to critique. I have moved to take on the gender research tree in addition to the violence research tree as I seeing peculiar intersections between them. The perception that videogames as a boys’ activity can yield a lot of meaningful information in how people form their identity and how they behave with other people, in-game or outside. How trying to being a man can affect behaviours and thinking. I went to my first communication-related conference at Washington D.C., it was okay, but met a lot of great people. I learned a lot about the publication process through my collaborative work with Jesse Fox as I published my first article in Computers in Human Behavior, although through a fortuitous outcome. More studies are surely to come in the coming years, but also dealing with the foreseeable backlash. But first, I need to deal with my candidacy exam this Spring.

That is all.

4 thoughts on “End of line for 2013

  1. I’m still disappointed that so much of the 2013 research on video games is dominated by violence and addiction studies. There’s so much more to be learned.

  2. Pingback: Review of 2014 videogames research: More diverse than about violence and addiction | VG Researcher

Leave a Reply

