Daphne Bavelier’s TED talk: Your brain on video games

Via Rock, Paper Shotgun, Daphne Bavelier (University of Rochester) gave a TED talk on her research on the brain and action videogames.

 

One thought on “Daphne Bavelier’s TED talk: Your brain on video games

  1. letlearn2003@yahoo.com
    2:15 p.m. Sunday, November, 2012

    Dear Ms. Bavelier,
    Hello. I just watched your TED video on video games and the brain. It’s just what I was looking for. I am an ESL teacher in South Korea and for a long time I have been interested in brain imaging and what goes on the brains of my students when they are learning my key visuals of the English tense system and the parts of speech. Just this week in my class one of my students in the break was busy playing a Korean game on her cell phone. It was a 3×3 matrix of holes out of which was popping a gopher and she was hitting it down. Coincidently, I invented a number of years ago a 3×3 matrix to classify the parts of speech. When I saw the student playing the cell phone game, I walked over to her and joined in her game, but I pretended I was hitting down the parts of speech. I thought if I could make a similar video game related to the parts of speech and capture the passion students have for video games, I could really help them learn English fast. Changing their passion in an educational way would be great. In a discussion with some teachers at lunch today, we weren’t sure that students would be interested in an educational game that example of parts of speech rather than gophers to hit down.
    After arriving home from lunch, I notice the title of your TED presentation on my smartphone and looked at it. Wow. It was exactly what I needed. I liked the fact that you can see what is happening in the brain when people are doing activities and I liked your analogy of chocolate and broccoli, that is, merging two rather seemingly opposing foods together to come up with a desirable and healthy food. It was a great analogy for the synergy of video and educational games.
    You really peaked my interest and I not only would like to see some healthy educational video games. Moreover, I would love to make and teat my parts of speech educational video game idea. In addition, I would like to do research on my key visuals related to the English tense system.
    Just to show you that my intentions are serious and sincere, let me say that I have been teaching ESL/EFL since 1973 and have taught in Canada, Thailand, Malaysia, Saudi Arabia, and South Korea. In 1989 in Saudi Arabia while working at a small private English/Computer school, I started to devise a unique way to teach the English tense system and through the years I have improved, especially with the help of the Power Point presentation tool. A few years ago, at my university in South Korea I extended my ideas to the 3×3 parts of speech matrix. In South Korea I have made many slide shows on my key visuals. From my experience, I feel that my key visuals are very helpful to my students, but I need to find a way to objectively test their validity and effectiveness. I also need to find a way to catch and keep the students’ interest, given that they seem addicted to video games.
    I have been thinking for quite a while about evaluating my key visuals with brain imaging and also in making games that students can play in their spare time, such as when they sit for hours on the bus to school each day. I thought that tablets would be a good idea, but they are expensive. Smartphones, though expensive also, are ubiquitous in South Korea and Korea is where companies love to test new electronic gadgets because Koreans are in the forefront of buying and using new technology.
    I am writing this letter to you because you are doing what I would love to be doing. Although you probably have many video games to work with, I have some key visuals that would be useful to your research in one way or another. If you are interested in seeing my key visuals, I would be happy to show them to you. Then, if you see some possibilities, I would really enjoy working with you on a project related to your brain imaging research and my key visuals. I think all of us could have major benefits if you could help me turn my chocolate and broccoli ideas into educational treats.
    I look forward to your reply. Thank you in advance.

    Yours truly,
    Howat Labrum, M.A. TESL (UBC)
    Baekseok Cultural University,
    South Korea

Leave a Reply

