Game Over: Gender, Race & Violence in Video Games (Media Education Foundation, 2002)

It’s so hot in my office and I’ve finally completed my graduate learning duties, what is left is my teaching duties and enter the children’s grades.

I came across this DVD while looking for Nina Huntemann’s book at the OSU library. They did not have what I am looking for, so I comforted myself with this 10 year old video. Despite its age, most of the discussions about gender, race and violence are still relevant and true. It’s terrible how the videogame industry have not made any fundamental changes since this video was released. Oh sure, there are stylistic changes, but they are nevertheless cosmetic changes. However, I don’t know why they interviewed Dave Grossman for the violence part, a retired army colonel, when they should’ve interviewed the more scholarly experts like Craig Anderson.

The video game examples they used looked so nostalgic and quaint to someone my age. I bet today’s first-years will have puzzled looks and recalling playing them as 12-14 year olds.

The masculinity issue discussed in the video has not met any serious attention to my knowledge. The last published video game article in the social sciences was from Erica Scharrer (University of Massachusetts-Amherst) in 2005. The other 2012 article was only a survey and was a kind of wake-up call.

One thought on “Game Over: Gender, Race & Violence in Video Games (Media Education Foundation, 2002)

  1. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my web site
    thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

