By the numbers: Published psychology studies on video games in 2008

kagami_sighIt’s the end of the year 2008, many things happened in the field of psychological research on video games and I’m tired. Most visibly is the publication and publicity surrounding Cheryl Olson and Lawrence Kutner’s book, Grand Theft Childhood: The Surprising Truth About Violent Video Games and What Parents Can Do. Lots of reaction and such, not going into detail.

From the big picture, there are 63 studies on video games published this year that I could get my hands on. The number could be higher if I could get non-English-language studies, more access to other databases (Wiley-interscience is being user-unfriendly when it comes to alerting me of new publications), other disciplines such as sociology (communications studies are included since the methodologies are similar to psychology) and essays on video games.

The topics from the 63 studies range from violence effects, cognitive training effects to video game addiction. So far, I’ve covered less than 20 percent and I will not cover all 2009 studies because I have a busy life.

That is all.

Leave a Reply

